Maple Leaf 
 
CEA Home Page Conference Venue Conference Highlights Call for Papers Submit a Paper Conference Program Participant Directory Advance Registration Onsite Registration Accommodation Transportation Eating and Dining For Children Sightseeing Travel Grants Information for Presenters Information for Discussants Information for Session Chairs Information for Session Organizers Information for Exhibitors Sponsors Media Inquiries Social Media
 
Printer-Friendly Version
 

  CEA Logo
 
St. Francis-Xavier University

The 51st Annual Conference Conference of the Canadian Economics Association will be held Friday June 2nd to Sunday June 4th, 2017, at Nova Scotia's St Francis Xavier University, under two hours by conference shuttle from Halifax International Airport. Conference highlights include a gala lobster banquet on Saturday evening, and keynotes addresses by Rafael M. Di Tella (Harvard), Hilary Hoynes (UC Berkeley), and Nathan Nunn (Harvard). For a full list of invited speakers, click here. To propose a special session, please contact Vivian Tran at cea.execdir@gmail.com by January 31st. Abstracts can be submitted here any time up to February 10th, 2017. A full list of deadlines follows below.

For further information, please click on the links to the left, or contact a member of the CEA Conference Team. Paula Emery at cea.conference@gmail.com handles all routine inquiries. Vivian Tran at cea.execdir@gmail.com can provide information about organizing special sessions, sponsorship, advertising, or media relations. Professor Greg Tkacz, gtkacz@stfx.ca, is responsible for local arrangements, while Professor Frances Woolley, frances.woolley@carleton.ca, is putting together the conference program.

 

CEA Response to U.S. Executive Order:

The Canadian Economics Association is aware that that some members of the Canadian economic profession have been seriously impacted by the recent U.S. executive order barring citizens from seven Muslim-majority countries from entering the United States. For example, some students will not be able to consider job market prospects at U.S. universities or conduct research in the U.S. during the ban. Members of the CEA Executive Council have been discussing measures that the Association can take to help ease the stress brought on by this action. Regarding the upcoming CEA conference, we will make the following two changes:

  1. For international scholars who have been affected by the executive order, the deadline to submit papers to the 2017 CEA meetings in Antigonish, Nova Scotia, will be extended until February 17, 2017. (In order to submit a paper contact Paula Emery at cea.conference@gmail.com)
  2. People who are unable to leave the US because of the executive order will be able to present and discuss papers at the 2017 CEA meetings via Skype.

Also, the CEA is happy to distribute information, through its email network and website, on any initiatives that individual departments or universities are taking in response to this situation, for example, extending application deadlines. To submit a message, please contact Vivian Tran at cea.execdir@gmail.com.

We realize these are only small measures at this time but we will continue to discuss other ways to ease this unexpected burden to some of our members from this executive order. Thank you.

 

Calendar of Important Dates and Deadlines (tentative)
December 1, 2016 The conference organizer starts accepting submissions of papers for presentation at the conference through the web interface.
January 31, 2017 Last day for prospective session organizers to contact the program office for booking blocks of sessions.
February 1, 2017 Advance registration for the conference commences.
February 10, 2017 Last day for submitting papers or abstracts to the conference organizer.
March 31, 2017 Last day for travel grant applications to be submitted to the CEA Secretary-Treasurer.
March 31, 2017 Last day for notifying paper submitters on the acceptance or rejection of their paper for presentation.
April 14, 2017 Last day for paper presenters to register. Presenters must register by this date or lose their conference program slot.
May 12, 2017 Early registration ends, and late registration fees apply thereafter.
June 1, 2017 Select sessions organized by affiliated groups begin.
June 2, 2017 The conference begins.

Conference Postal Address:
 
    Ms Paula Emery
    Brock University
    500 Glenridge Avenue
    St. Catherines, ON, L2S 3A1, Canada
    E-mail: cea.conference@gmail.com
 
[Download Conference Poster]
 
 
St. Francis Xavier University Logo
   

 

 
© 2017 Canadian Economics Association.
The CEA web site is maintained by Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML  | edit page

Maple Leaf 
 
CEA Home Page Conference Venue Conference Highlights Call for Papers Submit a Paper Conference Program Participant Directory Advance Registration Onsite Registration Accommodation Transportation Eating and Dining For Children Sightseeing Travel Grants Information for Presenters Information for Discussants Information for Session Chairs Information for Session Organizers Information for Exhibitors Sponsors Media Inquiries Social Media
 
Printer-Friendly Version
 

  CEA Logo
 
St. Francis-Xavier University

Le 51e Congrès annuel de l’Association canadienne d’économique aura lieu du vendredi 2 juin au dimanche 4 juin 2017, à la St Francis Xavier University, à Antagonish, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à deux heures de route de l’aéroport international d’Halifax grâce aux navettes qui seront mises à la disposition des participants. Parmi les points saillants du congrès, mentionnons : un repas de homard le samedi soir, et des conférences de Rafael di Tella(Harvard), d’Hilary Hoynes(UC Berkeley) et de Nathan Nunn(Harvard). Pour une liste complète des conférenciers invités, cliquez ici. Pour proposer la tenue d’une séance, veuillez communiquer avec Vivian Tran (cea.execdir@gmail.com) d’ici au 31 janvier. Vous pouvez également soumettre en tout temps un article lié à une communication grâce à cette pagedu site Web jusqu’au 10 février ; vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de toutes les dates limites à respecter.

Pour plus d’information, utilisez les liens de la liste qui apparaît à gauche de l’écran, ou communiquez avec un membre de l’équipe organisatrice du congrès : Paula Emery (cea.conference@gmail.com) traite toutes les demandes courantes ; Vivian Tran (cea.execdir@gmail.com) répond aux questions sur l’organisation de séances et sur les commandites et la publicité, et gère les relations avec les médias ; le professeur Greg Tkacz (gtkacz@stfx.ca) est responsable de la logistique sur place à la St Francis Xavier University ; et la professeure Frances Woolley (frances.woolley@carleton.ca) met en place le programme du congrès.

*********

Décret présidentiel américain : la réaction de l’ACE

L’Association canadienne d’économique est préoccupée par le fait que certains membres de la profession au Canada subissent durement les effets du décret présidentiel américain qui interdit l’entrée aux États-Unis aux citoyens de sept pays dont les habitants sont majoritairement de confession musulmane. Par exemple, des étudiants ne pourront considérer des perspectives d’emploi dans les universités américaines ni mener des recherches aux États-Unis pendant la durée d’application du décret. Les membres du Conseil exécutif de l’ACE ont donc discuté des mesures que l’Association pourrait adopter pour réduire le stress causé par cette mesure. En ce qui a trait au prochain congrès de l’ACE, qui se tiendra à Antigonish, en Nouvelle-Écosse, au début de juin, nous ferons ainsi les deux changements suivants :  

1. Pour les chercheurs touchés par ce décret, la date limite pour soumettre des articles pour le congrès est reportée au 17 février 2017. Pour plus d’information sur les soumissions, consultez le sitehttps://economics.ca/2017/fr/submit.php

2. Les personnes qui ne pourront quitter les États-Unis à cause du décret présidentiel pourront présenter et commenter une conférence au congrès grâce à Skype.

Veuillez contacter Paula Emery à cea.conference@gmail.com pour plus d'information sur la façon de présenter une demande après le 10 Février.

L’ACE sera également heureuse de publier de l’information, grâce à son réseau de courriels et à son site Web, sur toute mesure ou action que des facultés ou des universités pourraient adopter face à cette situation (allonger le délai relatif à divers types d’inscriptions, par exemple). Pour soumettre un message que vous souhaitez communiquer, veuillez contacter Vivian Tran (cea.execdir@gmail.com).

Nous sommes conscients que ces mesures ne constituent que des actions modestes, mais nous continuerons de réfléchir pour trouver d’autres façons de réduire l’impact que ce décret américain pourrait avoir sur certains de nos membres. Merci.

Calendrier des dates et des échéances importantes (provisoire)
1er décembre 2016 La responsable du congrès commence à accepter la soumission d'articles pour la présentation au congrès par l'entremise de l'interface Web.
31 janvier 2017 Dernière journée pour les présidents de séance éventuels qui doivent communiquer avec les responsables du congrès afin de réserver des blocs de séances.
1er février 2017 La préinscription au congrès commence.
10 février 2017 Dernière journée pour la soumission d'articles ou de résumés à la responsable du congrès.
31 mars 2017 Dernière journée pour la soumission des demandes de subvention de voyage à la secrétaire-trésorière de l'ACE.
31 mars 2017 Dernière journée pour annoncer aux personnes qui ont soumis un article s'il est accepté ou refusé pour présentation.
14 avril 2017 Dernière journée pour l'inscription des personnes présentant un article. Ces personnes doivent s'inscrire avant cette date, sinon la période de temps réservée à leur présentation sera annulée.
12 mai 2017 La période de préinscription se termine. Les frais d'inscription tardive s'appliquent.
1 juin 2017 Les séances organisées par les groupes affiliés sélectionnés débutent.
2 juin 2017 Le congrès commence.

Adresse postale du congrès
 
    Mme Paula Emery
    Brock University
    500 Glenridge Avenue
    St. Catherines, ON, L2S 3A1, Canada
    Courriel: cea.conference@gmail.com
 
[Affiche de conférence]
 
 
St. Francis Xavier University Logo
   

 

 
© 2017 Association canadienne d'économique.
Les pages Web de l'ACE sont mises à jour par Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML  | edit page