The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Data Availability Policy

The CJE has now implemented the data availability policy first introduced by the American Economic Review in 2005, and since adopted by the top general interest journals in economics. This policy applies to all new submissions, effective January 1, 2008. We thank the AER for their leadership in this area, especially in establishing the main details and procedures of implementing such a policy. With the exception of our qualification concerning data from Statistics Canada, our policy exactly follows that of the AER.

Objective of the Policy

It is CJE policy to publish papers only if the data used in the analysis are clearly and precisely documented, and are readily available to any researcher for purposes of replication. Authors of accepted papers that contain empirical work, simulations, or experimental work must provide to the CJE, prior to publication, the data, programs, and other details of the computations sufficient to permit replication. These will be posted on the CJE web site. The managing editor should be notified at the time of submission if the data used in a paper are proprietary or if, for some other reason, the requirements above cannot be met.

General Procedure

As soon as possible after acceptance, authors are expected to send their data, programs, and sufficient documentation to permit replication, in electronic form, to the CJE office. Please send the files via e-mail to Olivier Lebert (cje.cpp@gmail.com), indicating the manuscript number. Questions regarding any aspect of this policy should be forwarded to the managing editor.

Detailed Information

The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Politique de disponibilité des données

La CJE a mis en place une politique de disponibilité des données semblable à celle mise en place en 2005 par la revue American Economic Review, puis par les meilleurs revues d'intérêt général en économie. Cette politique concerne toutes les soumissions postérieures au 1er janvier 2008. Nous tenons à remercier l'AER pour son leadership en la matière, et en particulier pour l'élaboration d'une procédure détaillée facilitant la mise en application de cette nouvelle politique. A l'exception des données émanant de Statistiques Canada, notre politique suit en tout points celle de l'AER.

But de cette politique

La revue canadienne d'économique ne publiera désormais que les articles dont les données utilisées seront clairement et précisément documentées, et mises à la disposition de tout chercheur qui souhaiterait les reproduire. Les auteurs dont un article qui a été accepté contient des travaux empiriques, experimentaux, ou des simulations, devront fournir à la CJE avant la publication, les données, programmes et tous autres détails nécessaires pour en permettre la reproduction. Ces éléments seront mis en ligne sur le site web de la CJE. Le rédacteur en chef devra être informé au moment de la soumission si les données utilisées dans l'article sont protégées ou non par des droits, ou si pour toute autre raison, les contraintes citées ci-dessus ne peuvent pas être respectées.

Procédure

Dès que possible après qu'un article a été accepté pour publication, les auteurs sont tenus d'envoyer au bureaux de la CJE toutes leurs données, programmes et tous fichiers nécessaire pour la reproduction. Merci d'envoyer vos fichiers à Olivier Lebert (cje.cpp@gmail.com), en précisant le numéro de référence de votre article. Toute question concernant cette politique doit être adressée au rédacteur en chef.

Instructions détaillées