[Logo]   Advice to Referees
  ------
 
Canadian
Public Policy
 
Analyse de
Politiques

 

Managing Editor:
Michael Veall
 
Associate Editors:
Stephen Gordon
Peter Graefe
Tammy Schirle
Lisa Strohschein
 
Treasurer:
Robert Dimand
 
   

Canadian Public Policy/Analyse de politiques is Canada's foremost journal examining economic and social policy. The journal strives to publish original research that will stimulate discussion and future research of public policy problems in Canada. It is directed at a wide readership including decision-makers and advisers in business organizations and governments, and policy researchers in private institutions and universities. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of many public policy issues, the journal publishes articles in various disciplines.

Papers should be appraised from the point of view of their relevance for public policy and public management. Publishable articles should be grounded in peer-reviewed literature of the given discipline(s) and provide original evidence or analysis on a relevant public policy issue. Canadian Public Policy expects papers to be of a high intellectual standard, yet comprehensible to a general audience—readers outside the author's own discipline.

CPP/Adp primarily considers original research articles for publication but also welcomes articles that review the state of knowledge in particular policy areas as commentary pieces. These submissions should be assessed based on their comprehensiveness, accuracy, accessibility to a general (rather than) disciplinary audience and the extent to which they add to the literature.

Review Process

Canadian Public Policy uses a double-blind reviewing process. Referees and submitting authors remain anonymous to the one another. CPP requests that referees assess both the appropriateness and contribution of submitted papers. Referees should submit a cover letter to the CPP editor or associate editor and an anonymous report on the paper that will be sent to the authors. These referee submissions can be made online using the link embedded in the email referees received with the original request for a review. Expectations for these two parts of the referee submissions are as follows:

  1. Cover Letter to the CPP Editor: Referees should provide an overall evaluation of the paper and a clear recommendation to publish, to request a major or minor revision, or to reject the submitted paper. Recommendations for rejections may be based on inappropriate fit for the journal as well as substantial errors or omissions in the paper.
  2. Anonymous Report to the Authors: The specific structure of the report can vary, but typically the report should contain the key elements of the referees evaluation of the paper. The report can provide general comments, addressing the main contribution of the submitted paper and the appropriateness of the paper for publication in CPP as well as specific comments, addressing the organization of the paper, methodology used in the paper, correctness and significance of the papers results and conclusions, and exposition and logic of the papers argument. All comments should be considerate in manner and constructive. If a recommendation of revise and resubmit is given to the editor, then detailed comments regarding the requested revisions would be most helpful for the authors.

Referees are expected to complete their reports within six weeks of receipt, but additional time may be requested when first accepting the request for review. Referees unable to provide a timely report either due to other demands or a mismatch in expertise are requested to let the editor or associate editor know as soon as possible. Suggestions for alternate referees are always appreciated.

------

© 2017 Canadian Public Policy (URL: http://cpp.economics.ca/, E-mail: cpp.adp@gmail.com). The CPP web pages are maintained by Olivier Lebert (Montréal) and Werner Antweiler (UBC). Earlier versions of the documents on this site were created by Elaine Constant (Queen's University) and Maureen Church (University of Calgary).

[Logo]   Lignes directrices aux arbitres
  ------
 
Analyse de
Politiques
 
Canadian
Public Policy

 

Rédacteur en chef:
Michael Veall
 
Rédacteurs:
Stephen Gordon
Peter Graefe
Tammy Schirle
Lisa Strohschein
 
Trésorier:
Robert Dimand
 
   

Analyse de politiques est le premier périodique du Canada examinant la politique économique et sociale. Le but du périodique est de stimuler la recherche et la discussion des problèmes politiques au Canada. Il s'adresse à un large public incluant des décideurs et des conseillers du monde des affaires et du secteur gouvernemental, des chercheurs d'universités ou d'institutions privées.

Le contenu de chaque volume vise à être représentatif de diverses disciplines impliquées dans des issues politiques. Ce périodique trimestriel édite les articles interdisciplinaires en anglais ou français. Les résumés sont fournis dans les deux langues.

Processus d'évaluation

La revue Analyse de Politiques utilise un processus d'examen en double aveugle par les pairs. Les évaluateurs ignorent qui sont les auteurs et les auteurs ignorent qui évalue leur travail. L'AdP demande aux évaluateurs d'estimer la pertinence et l'intérêt des articles soumis. Ils envoient au rédacteur en chef une lettre confidentielle, aiunsi qu'un rapport anonyme qui sera envoyé aux auteurs. L'envoi de ces documents se fait par un lien sécurisé inclus dans le courriel envoyé aux évaluateurs lors de la demande d'évaluation. 

  1. Une lettre confidentielle pour le rédacteur en chef: Les évaluateurs doivent envoyer au rédacteur en chef une lettre dans laquelle ils font une évaluation globale de l'article et une recommandation claire (publication, révision ou refus).  Les refus peuvent être justifiés par des erreurs ou des omissions dans le manuscrit, mais aussi parce que l'article peut ne pas conforme aux standards de la revue. 
  2. Une lettre anonyme (rapport) pour les auteurs: La structure de cette lettre peut varier d'un manuscrit à l'autre. Généralement, le rapport doit contenir les poinds clefs de l'évaluation de l'article: des commentaires sur la contribution de l'article aux travaux en cours, la pertinence de cet article pour la revue, des commentaires sur l'organisation de l'article, la méthodologie employée, la valeur des démonstrations, résultats et conclusions, la logique de l'argumentation. Chaque commentaire doit bien entendu être justifié et constructif. Si une "révision" est suggérer au rédacteur, il est souhaitable de détailler la manière dont les auteurs pourraient améliorer leur travail.

Si vous avez accepté d'avaluer un article, vous vous engagez à envoyer votre lettre votre rapport dans un délai de six semaines après la réception de la demande, mais bien entendu un délai supplémentaire peut être accordé si besoin. Si vous ne pouvez plus envoyer votre évaluation dans les temps, merci de prévenir au plus vite le responsable de rédaction à cpp.adp@gmail.com. Si vous ne pouvez pas évaluer un article, toute suggestion de nom d'autres personnes est fortement appreciée. 

------

© 2017 Analyse de Politiques (URL : http://cpp.economics.ca/, Courriel : cpp.adp@gmail.com). Les pages web de la revue sont mises à jour par Olivier Lebert (Montréal) et Werner Antweiler (UBC). Les versions précédentes ont été créées par Elaine Constant (Université Queen's) et Maureen Church (Université de Calgary).