Maple Leaf 
 

 
   President
Frances Woolley   
   Secretary-Treasurer
Werner Antweiler   
   President Elect &
   Conference Organizer
Angela Redish   
   Vice President
Scott Taylor   
   Past President
Nancy Gallini   
   Executive Director
Vivian Tran   
   Assistant Treasurer
Ana Ferrer   
  CEA Logo
 
CEA Fellow: Marcel Boyer

Marcel Boyer

 

Marcel Boyer (Ph.D., Carnegie-Mellon University) is Emeritus Professor of Economics, Université de Montréal, where he was Bell Canada Professor of Industrial Economics and Jarislowsky-SSHRC-NSERC Professor of Technology and International Competition (École Polytechnique). He is presently Associate Member, Toulouse School of Economics; Fellow of CIRANO, CIREQ and the C.D. Howe Institute (Member of the Competition Policy Council); First Vice-president of the Society for Economic Research on Copyright Issues(SERCI); Memberof the Governance committee of the "Sustainable Finance and Responsible Investment" Chairs of AFG at École Polytechnique de Paris and Université de Toulouse; Member of the Expert Panel of the Council of Canadian Academies on the State of Industrial Research and Development in Canada; Member of the jury of the Donner Prize; and University affiliate of Analysis Group.

He was President of the Canadian Economics Association, President of the Société Canadienne de Science Économique, CEO of CIRANO, Member of the Board of Directors of the National Bureau of Economic Research, Member of the National Statistics Council of Canada, Member of the Board of Directors of the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada, Chairman of the Board of the Network for Computing and Mathematical Modelling, Memberof the Editorial Board of the Canadian Journal of Economics and the Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, Visiting Senior Research Advisor for industrial economics at Industry Canada,Member of the Board of the Agency for Public-Private Partnerships of Québec, and Vice-President and Chief Economist of the Montreal Economic Institute.

Marcel Boyer received the Alexander-Henderson Award (Carnegie-Mellon University 1971), the Prix Marcel-Dagenais (Société canadienne de science économique 1985), the Endowment-for–the–future Distinguished Scholar Award (University of Alberta 1988), Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada 1992), the Distinguished Guest Professor Award (Wuhan University of Technology 1995), the Prix Marcel-Vincent (Association francophone pour le savoir ACFAS 2002), and the Médaille Guillaume-Budé (Collège de France 2005). He is Fellow of The International Journal of Industrial Organization (1997) and Fellow of the World Academy of Productivity Science (2001).

Marcel Boyer’s contributions are both numerous and diversified. He was one of the first theorists to introduce non-additive utility functions with endogenous discount factors in the theory of optimal growth (CJE 1975, IER 1978). He is credited with significant contributions in the fields of habit formation, rational addiction and consumption cycles (JET 1983). In the economics of strategic behavior, his work (with Michel Moreaux) have confirmed the impossibility of reducing the set of strategic equilibria through conjectural variations, which led them to reinterpret the Cournot, Bertrand and Stackelberg equilibria (IJIO 1983, JIE 1983); they also contributed to the analysis of strategic rationing (QJE 1988, IER 1989), market coverage (IJIO 1993), and dynamic strategic equilibria (with Thomas Mariotti and Pierre Lasserre, REI 1998, IJIO 2004, IJIO 2012). In the economics of information, uncertain and insurance, his work (with Georges Dionne) allowed among others to define a new measure of risk aversion for the study of reactions to government policies (AÉ 1983, CJE 1983, CJE 1989); their work on the economics and econometrics of road safety and car insurance (REStat 1989) had an important impact in academic and applied circles. Among his contributions to law and economics, his work on the sharing of liability in industrial and environmental disasters have shown in particular the limits of the American jurisprudence based on the CERCLA Act, which paved the way for the liability of banks (with Jean-Jacques Laffont, EER 1997), and the impact of court efficiency to avoid errors of type I and II on the optimal sharing of liability (with Donatella Porrini, IRLE 2011). He also contributed to the analysis of misleading advertising (AÉ 1977), the role of law in the informative effectiveness of prices (CJE 1989), the emergence of incentive regulation (RJE 1999), the economics of copyright (RERCI 2004, 2007, 2012), of inertia in organizations (JEBO 2006), and of the determination of fines in cartel cases (Concurrences 2011). Marcel Boyer co-edited in 1984 (with Richard E. Kihlstrom) Bayesian Models in Economic Theory in Studies in Bayesian Econometrics series published by North-Holland, a book which remains today a reference in the economic theory of information incomplete (Bayesian-Nash equilibria). He co-edited in 2006 (with David Martimort and Yolande Hiriart) Frontiers in the Economics of Environmental Regulation and Liability (Ashgate Pub) and in 2009 (with Michael Trebilcock and David Vaver) Intellectual Property and Competition Law (Irwin). He published in 2006 (with Michel Moreaux and Michel Truchon) Partage des coûts et tarification des infrastructures (CIRANO) and in 2009 Manifeste pour une social-démocratie concurrentielle / Manifesto for a Competitive Social Democracy (CIRANO).


 

 
© 2017 Canadian Economics Association.
The CEA web site is maintained by Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML  | edit page

Maple Leaf 
 

 
   Président
Nancy Gallini   
   Secrétaire-trésorier
Robert Dimand   
   Président désigné et
   responsable du congrès
Frances Woolley   
   Vice-président
Angela Redish   
   Président sortant
Charles Beach   
   Directrice générale
Vivian Tran   
   Technologie informatique &
   Trésorier adjoint
Werner Antweiler   
  CEA Logo
 
Membre Honoraire : Marcel Boyer

Marcel Boyer

 

Marcel Boyer (Ph.D., Carnegie-Mellon University) est professeur émérite de sciences économiques à l’Université de Montréal où il a été titulaire de la Chaire Bell Canada en économie industrielle et titulaire de la Chaire Jarislowsky-CRSH-CRSNG en technologie et concurrence internationale (École Polytechnique). Il est présentement Membre associé de la Toulouse School of Economics, Fellow du CIRANO, du CIREQ et du C.D. Howe Institute, Premier Vice-président de la Society for Economic Research on Copyright Issues (SERCI), Membre du Comité d’orientation des Chaires en « Finance Durable et Investissement Responsable » de l’AGF à l’École Polytechnique de Paris et à l’Université de Toulouse, Membre du Panel d’experts du Conseil des académies canadiennes sur la R&D industrielle au Canada, Membre du jury du Prix Donner, et Affilié universitaire du Groupe d’analyse.

Il a été Président de l’Association canadienne d’économique, Président de la Société canadienne de science économique, PDG du CIRANO, Membre du Board of Directors du National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), du Conseil National de la Statistique du Canada, du CA du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), Président du Conseil du Réseau de Calcul et de Modélisation Mathématique, Membre du comité éditorial de la Revue canadienne de d’économique et du Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, Membre du Conseil d’administration de l’Agence des partenariats public-privé du Québec, Conseiller principal en économie industrielle d’Industrie Canada, et Vice-président et économiste en chef de l’Institut économique de Montréal.

Marcel Boyer a reçu  l’Alexander-Henderson Award (Université Carnegie-Mellon 1971), le Prix Marcel-Dagenais (Société canadienne de science économique 1985), l’Endowment-for-the-Future Distinguished Scholar Award (Université d’Alberta 1988), le Distinguished Guest Professor Award (Wuhan University of Technology 1995), Fellow de l’International Journal of Industrial Organization 1997, Fellow of the World Academy of Productivity Science 2001, le Prix Marcel-Vincent (Association francophone pour le savoir ACFAS 2002), la Médaille Guillaume-Budé (Collège de France 2005). Il a été élu en 1992 à la Société Royale du Canada (Les Académies des arts, des lettres et des sciences du Canada).

Parmi les contributions de Marcel Boyer mentionnons qu’il a été parmi les premiers théoriciens à introduire des fonctions d’utilité non additives avec facteurs d’escompte endogènes en théorie de la croissance optimale (CJE 1975, IER 1978). On lui crédite d’importantes contributions dans les domaines de la formation des habitudes de consommation, de la dépendance rationnelle et des cycles de consommation (JET 1983). En économie des comportements stratégiques, ses travaux (avec Michel Moreaux) ont permis de confirmer l’impossibilité de réduire l’ensemble des équilibres stratégiques par le recours aux variations conjecturales, ce qui les a amenés à réinterpréter les équilibres du Cournot, de Bertrand et de Stackelberg (IJIO 1983, JIE 1983); mentionnons également leurs contributions à l’analyse du rationnement stratégique (QJE 1988, IER 1989), sur la couverture de marché (IJIO 1993), et sur les équilibres stratégiques dynamiques (avec Thomas Mariotti et Pierre Lasserre, REI 1998, IJIO 2004, IJIO 2012). En économie de l’information, de l’incertain et de l’assurance, ses travaux (avec Georges Dionne) ont permis entre autres de définir une nouvelle mesure de riscophobie pour l’étude des réactions aux politiques gouvernementales (AÉ 1983, CJE 1983, CJE 1989); leurs travaux sur l’économie et l’économétrie de la sécurité routière et de l’assurance automobile (REStat 1989) ont eu un important rayonnement académique et pratique. Parmi ses contributions à l’analyse économique du droit, notons que ses travaux sur le partage de  responsabilité dans les désastres industriels et environnementaux ont notamment montré les limites de la jurisprudence et du droit américains basés sur le CERCLA Act, qui avaient ouvert la voie à la responsabilité des banques (avec Jean-Jacques Laffont, EER 1997), et l’impact de l’efficacité des tribunaux à éviter les erreurs de type I et II sur le partage optimal de responsabilité (avec Donatella Porrini, IRLE 2011). Il a également contribué à l’analyse de la publicité trompeuse (AÉ 1977), du rôle des lois dans l’efficacité informative des prix (CJE 1989), de l’émergence de la réglementation incitative (RJE 1999), de l’économie du droit d’auteur (RERCI 2004, 2007, 2012), de l’inertie dans les organisations (JEBO 2006), et de la détermination des amendes en matière de cartel (Concurrences 2011). Marcel Boyer a coédité en 1984 (avec Richard E. Kihlstrom) Bayesian Models in Economic Theory dans la série Studies in Bayesian Econometrics publiée par North-Holland, un ouvrage qui demeure encore aujourd’hui un ouvrage de référence en théorie économique de l’information incomplète (équilibres Nash-Bayesiens). Il a coédité en 2006 (avec David Martimort et Yolande Hiriart) Frontiers in the Economics of Environmental Regulation and Liability (Ashgate Pub) et en 2009 (avec Michael Trebilcock et David Vaver) Intellectual Property and Competition Law (Irwin Law). Marcel Boyer a publié au CIRANO en 2006 (avec Michel Moreaux et Michel Truchon) Partage des coûts et tarification des infrastructures (CIRANO) et en 2009 Manifeste pour une social-démocratie concurrentielle / Manifesto for a Competitive Social Democracy (CIRANO).


 

 
© 2017 Association canadienne d'économique.
Les pages Web de l'ACE sont mises à jour par Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML  | edit page