Maple Leaf 
 
CEA Home Page Conference Home Page Conference Venue Conference Highlights Call for Papers Submit a Paper Conference Program Participant Directory Advance Registration Onsite Registration Transportation Eating and Dining For Children Sightseeing Travel Grants Information for Presenters Information for Discussants Information for Session Chairs Information for Session Organizers Information for Exhibitors Sponsors Media Inquiries Social Media
 
Printer-Friendly Version
 
May 2006
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      

  CEA Logo
 
Accommodation

An Overview of Accommodation Options by Ian Irvine
 
The weekend of our Conference coincides with Memorial Day in the US, and this always sees a boost in demand for hotel rooms in Montreal. But we have been fortunate in getting two very good hotels, a 'university hotel' and a residence that is far above average quality at very moderate prices. Here is my assessment of each:
 
The McGill residences are located on 3935 University Avneue. This is a beautiful location, above the Neurological Hospital, and a stone's throw from mountain trails. It is a pleasant 25 minute walk down through the McGill campus to Sherbrooke Street, and thence Concordia in the morning. Gravity will be more noticeable on the return trip however. I visited the residence. The rooms are standard, clean and Spartan. But the beds are all good - a genuine mattress that will facilitate sleep, in contrast to recent experiences in dorms. A cold buffet breakfast is available, and included in the price. In addition internet is just outside the dining area and available free-of-charge to residents. I counted four terminals. So, great value for $46.01. Contact 514-398-5200. Ask for CEA booking rate.
 
The Clarion Hotel is located about 8 minutes walk west of Concordia on de Maisonneuve Boulevard. I visited the hotel. Room quality is very good. Internet connections are in every room, and in addition there are a couple of terminals in the communication/business room for those who leave their portable at home. All rooms/suites include an efficiency kitchen with fridge and stove. Some suites have two rooms at a very reasonable rate. So this might be good for people bringing children. Rate is approximately $120. Ask for the CEA booking rate. Reservation deadline: April 10. [April 17 update: only 8 rooms left; they will honour our rate until these remaining rooms are booked.]
 
The Novotel is located seven or eight minutes' walk east of the conference building, on Mountain Street, and is adjacent to some of Montreal's night life - Crescent Street is only a block away, and it offers a full range of sensory delights, including food. The hotel is new and we have been fortunate in getting a great rate at $129. Ask for the CEA booking rate. [Hotel booked up; no rooms left as of April 17.]
 
McGill University hotel is 'New Residence Hall' at 3625 Avenue du Parc - corner of Parc and Prince-Arthur, about 2 streets North of Sherbrooke. About 25 minutes by foot. Contact 514-398-3471 or email: reservation.nrh@mcgill.ca. Reservation Reference Code: ECON332. Price: (including taxes) $112.72. This includes: continental breakfast - juices, tisane, coffee, breads, Danishes, yogurt, fruit. Free internet connection in rooms. For long distance call, guests can buy phone cards and use them in the room. Reservation deadline: April 24.
 
All told, I think you will do well, no matter where you stay. But you should really make a point of booking by early April at latest. Hotel rooms will be difficult to find close to the conference date, and do not be surprised to pay $200 for something ordinary. If you do not wish to take one of these hotels, there are several others in the immediate neighbourhood: the Meridian on Sherbrooke St, the Maritime on Guy St, the Nouvel Hotel on Rene Levesque, or the Chateau Versailles on Sherbrooke St. You can also try Expedia or Montreal Hotel Prices or Hotels.com.
 

 

 
© 2017 Canadian Economics Association.
The CEA web site is maintained by Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML

Maple Leaf 
 
CEA Home Page Conference Home Page Conference Venue Conference Highlights Call for Papers Submit a Paper Conference Program Participant Directory Advance Registration Onsite Registration Transportation Eating and Dining For Children Sightseeing Travel Grants Information for Presenters Information for Discussants Information for Session Chairs Information for Session Organizers Information for Exhibitors International Attendees Sponsors Media Inquiries Social Media/Videos
 
Printer-Friendly Version
 
mai 2006
dim lun mar mer jeu ven sam
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      

  CEA Logo
 
Hébergement

L'opinion d'Ian sur l'hébergement
 
Notre congrès tombe la même fin de semaine que le Memorial Day américain, moment où la demande pour les chambres d'hôtel à Montréal augmente sensiblement. Cependant, nous avons eu la chance d'obtenir deux très bons hôtels, en plus d'un « hôtel universitaire » et d'une résidence bien au-dessus de la moyenne et à prix raisonnable. Voici ce que j'en pense :
 
Les résidences de l'Université McGill sont situées sur l'avenue Université 3935. C'est un emplacement magnifique, au-dessus de l'hôpital neurologique, et à deux pas des sentiers dans la montagne. On traverse le campus de l'Université McGill en 25 minutes de marche plaisante pour se rendre à la rue Sherbrooke, et de là, à Concordia. La gravité fera son effet davantage sur le chemin montant du retour. J'ai visité la résidence. Les chambres sont standard, propres et simples. Mais tous les lits sont bons - un véritable matelas pour faciliter le sommeil, comparativement à de récentes expériences dans d'autres résidences. Un buffet froid pour le déjeuner est inclus dans le prix. De plus, Internet est disponible sans frais pour les résidents juste à l'extérieur de l'aire des repas. J'ai compté quatre terminaux. C'est une bonne affaire pour 46.01 $. Téléphone : (514) 398-5200. Précisez qu'il s'agit du tarif pour l'ACE.
 
L'hôtel Clarion est situé à environ huit minutes de marche à l'ouest de Concordia, sur le boulevard de Maisonneuve. www.clarionmontreal.com J'ai visité l'hôtel. Les chambres sont de très bonne qualité. Internet est disponible dans toutes les chambres, sans compter les quelques terminaux dans la salle d'affaires pour ceux qui auront laissé leur ordinateur portable à la maison. Toutes les chambres et les suites sont munies d'un coin-cuisine avec frigo et cuisinière. Certaines suites à prix très raisonnable ont deux chambres. Il pourrait s'agir d'une bonne solution pour ceux qui voyagent avec leurs enfants. Le tarif est d'environ 120 $. Précisez qu'il s'agit du tarif pour l'ACE. Date-limite de réservation: 10 Avril.
 
Le Novotel est situé à sept ou huit minutes de marche à l'est de l'édifice du congrès, sur la rue de la Montagne, et au coeur de la vie nocturne montréalaise. La rue Crescent, qui offre toute une gamme de douceurs sensorielles, y compris de quoi manger, n'est qu'à quelques pas. L'hôtel est récent et nous avons eu la chance d'obtenir un excellent tarif (129 $). Précisez qu'il s'agit du tarif pour l'ACE.. Date-limite de réservation: 24 Avril.
 
L'hôtel de l'Université McGill s'appelle « Nouvelle résidence » et est situé au 3625 de l'avenue du Parc, à l'intersection de Parc et de Prince-Arthur, environ deux rues au nord de Sherbrooke. Environ 25 minutes de marche. Téléphone : (514) 398-3471, courriel : reservation.nrh@mcgill.ca. Code de référence pour la réservation : ECON332. Prix : 112,72 $ (taxes incluses). Cela comprend le déjeuner continental : jus, tisane, café, pain, danoises, yogourt, fruits. Internet est disponible gratuitement dans les chambres. Pour les interurbains, les visiteurs peuvent acheter des cartes téléphoniques et les utiliser dans leur chambre. Date-limite de réservation: 24 Avril.
 
Finalement, je crois que peu importe votre choix, vous ne pouvez pas vous tromper. Mais vous devriez réellement réserver d'ici le début avril. Les chambres d'hôtel seront difficiles à trouver au moment du congrès, et ne soyez pas surpris de devoir payer plus de 200 $ pour quelque chose de bien ordinaire. Si vous ne voulez pas réserver à l'un de ces hôtels, il y en a plusieurs autres dans le quartier : le Meridian sur Sherbrooke, le Maritime sur Guy, le Nouvel Hôtel sur René-Lévesque, ou le Château Versailles sur Sherbrooke. Vous pouvez également essayer Expedia ou www.montrealhotelprices.ca ou www.hotels.com.
 

 

 
© 2018 Association canadienne d'économique.
Les pages Web de l'ACE sont mises à jour par Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML