The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Robert Mundell Prize

Every year, the Canadian Economics Association awards the Robert Mundell Prize to the "young" author or authors of the paper judged to be the best paper published in the Canadian Journal of Economics in the previous two calendar year.

The prize is named after Robert Mundell, who received the Sveriges Riksbank (Bank of Sweden) Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for 1999:

"Robert Mundell has established the foundation for the theory which dominates practical policy considerations of monetary and fiscal policy in open economies. His work on monetary dynamics and optimum currency areas has inspired generations of researchers. Although dating back several decades, Mundell's contributions remain outstanding and constitute the core of teaching in international macroeconomics.
    "Mundell's research has had such a far-reaching and lasting impact because it combines formal—but still accessible—analysis, intuitive interpretation and results with immediate policy applications. Above all, Mundell chose his problems with uncommon—almost prophetic—accuracy in terms of predicting the future development of international monetary arrangements and capital markets. Mundell's contributions serve as a superb reminder of the significance of basic research. At a given point in time academic achievements might appear rather esoteric; not long afterwards, however, they may take on great practical importance." (Press Release: The Sveriges Riksbank (Bank of Sweden) Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for 1999—The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences)

Some of Robert Mundell's most influential work was published in the Canadian Journal of Economics and Political Science between 1957 and 1963 when he was a "young" economist.

The prize, worth $2,000, was first awarded in 2004 for articles published in the years 2002 and 2003. To be eligible all (co)authors must be non-tenured (or equivalent) in their respective institution. The Prize is awarded at the annual meetings of the Canadian Economics Association and is selected by a committee appointed under the authority of the executive council of the Association. The three members of the committee normally serve for three years each in overlapping terms.

Winner 2008

The winner of this year's Mundell prize is David Albouy of the University of Michigan. He receives the prize for his article The Wage Gap between Francophones and Anglophones: A Canadian Perspective, 1970-2000 that was published in the November 2008 issue. This article received press coverage in the Montreal Gazette and the Ottawa Citizen. Professor Albouy received his PhD from the University of California at Berkeley in 2007.

Previous Winners: 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012
2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018