The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Conflict of Interest Policy and Ethical Guideline for Authors

The Canadian Journal of Economics (CJE) adheres to the ethical guidelines of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). The guidelines below follow closely those advocated by COPE and currently in place at other major economics journals.

Originality

By submitting your paper to the CJE, it is understood that the work is original, unpublished in any language, and not under simultaneous consideration by another journal. Relevant previous work by other researchers and by the author(s) should be appropriately acknowledged and cited. Any form of plagiarism, in part or in whole and including the author's own previous work, will not be tolerated. The CJE reserves the right to use software to detect plagiarism.

Authorship

Authorship should reflect the individual's contribution to the research and to its reporting. Any individual who meets authorship criteria (that is, made a substantive contribution to the research) should be rewarded with authorship. Individuals who made less than a substantive contribution to the research should be listed in the acknowledgement footnote. Any form of guest, gift and ghost authorship is forbidden. Under COPE's definitions, a guest author is one who does not deserve authorship but is listed because of seniority or reputation; a gift author is one who does not deserve authorship but is listed as a favour or in return for payment; and a ghost author is one who deserves authorship but is not listed.

Conflicts of Interest

When submitting a paper, all authors should state all sources of financial support for their research. All authors should identify any interested party that provided financial or in-kind support in the form of consultancy fees, retainers, data access, etc. An interested party is an individual or organization that has a stake in the paper for financial, political or ideological reasons. All authors should reveal any paid or unpaid positions in organizations whose financial interests or policy positions are relevant to the submitted paper. If the paper is partly or wholly written under contract with an organization, this fact must be disclosed. If any of the above situations does not apply to one or more of the authors, this fact must be stated as well. The above information should be disclosed in a Disclosure Statement form (one for every author) at the time of submission. The form(s) should be added at the end of your manuscript (last page) so as to be available to the editor and referees. A short statement summarizing the information in this form will be included in the acknowledgment footnote of the published version of the paper. Authors are expected to keep the journal informed of any changes in their status that could potentially put them in the appearance of conflict between the date of submission and the date of final acceptance of the paper.

Research Involving Humans (or Animals)

Appropriate approval, registration or licencing should be obtained from the relevant ethical board (e.g., the Research Ethics Committee at the author's university) prior to any research that involves humans (or animals). This information should appear in the acknowledgment note of the submitted paper. Steps should be taken to insure the confidentiality of sensitive data.

Sanctions

Review of a submission will be discontinued if the authors have not followed these guidelines. If a published paper is found to be inconsistent with these guidelines then a correction or retraction will be published in the Journal.

The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Conflit d'intérêts

La Revue canadienne d’économique (RCE) se conforme aux directives du Committee on Publications Ethics (COPE). Les lignes directrices ci-dessous suivent étroitement celles que recommande le COPE de même que celles qui sont actuellement en vigueur dans les principales revues économiques.

Originalité

En soumettant votre article à la RCE, il est entendu que votre travail est original, non publié dans une autre langue, ni évalué simultanément par une autre revue. Les travaux pertinents réalisés par d’autres chercheurs et par le ou les auteur(s) doivent être reconnus et cités adéquatement. Aucune forme de plagiat, en tout ou partie, y compris des précédents travaux de l’auteur, ne sera tolérée. La RCE se réserve le droit de recourir à des logiciels pour déceler toute forme de plagiat.

Qualité d’auteur

La qualité d’auteur doit refléter la contribution d’un individu à une recherche et à sa publication. Toute personne satisfaisant les critères de qualité d’auteur d’un article (c.-à-d. ayant contribué de manière significative à la recherche) doit être reconnue comme auteur. Les personnes ayant apporté des contributions moins significatives doivent être mentionnées dans les notes en bas de page consacrées aux remerciements. Il est interdit d’attribuer la qualité d’auteur à des auteurs invités ou honoraires ou à des prête-plumes. Selon les définitions du COPE, un auteur invité (guest author) est un auteur qui ne mérite pas la qualité d’auteur, mais qui est mentionné comme tel en raison de son ancienneté ou de sa réputation. Un auteur honoraire (gift author) est un auteur qui ne mérite pas la qualité d’auteur, mais qui est mentionné comme tel par complaisance ou contre rémunération. Un prête-plume (ghost author) est un auteur qui mérite la qualité d’auteur, mais qui n’est pas mentionné comme tel.

Conflits d’intérêts

En soumettant un article, tous les auteurs doivent mentionner toutes les sources d'aide financière reçue dans le cadre de leur recherche. Tous les auteurs doivent identifier les parties intéressées qui ont apporté un soutien, financier ou non, sous la forme de frais de consultation, d’acomptes, d’accès aux données, etc. Une partie intéressée est une personne ou un organisme qui a un intérêt dans l’article pour des raisons financières, politiques ou idéologiques. Tous les auteurs doivent déclarer tout emploi, rémunéré ou non, occupé au sein d’organismes dont les intérêts financiers ou les politiques sont concernés par l’article soumis. Si l’article est rédigé en tout ou partie aux termes d’un contrat conclu avec un organisme, alors cette information doit être divulguée. Les renseignements ci-dessus doivent être divulgués au moment de la soumission de l’article par l’entremise d’un formulaire de déclaration (un formulaire par auteur). Une brève déclaration résumant les informations contenues dans le formulaire sera incluse dans les notes en bas de page consacrées aux remerciements dans la version publiée de l’article. Les auteurs sont tenus d’informer la revue de tout changement de leur statut pouvant les placer en situation de conflit d’intérêts entre la date de la soumission et la date d’acceptation définitive de l’article.

Recherche avec sujets humains (ou animaux)

Avant d’entamer toute recherche avec sujets humains (ou animaux), une approbation, un enregistrement ou un permis approprié doit être obtenu auprès du comité d’éthique concerné (p. ex. auprès du Comité d'éthique de la recherche de l’université de l’auteur). Cette information doit apparaître dans l’article soumis dans les notes en bas de page consacrées aux remerciements. Des mesures doivent être prises pour garantir la confidentialité des données sensibles.

Sanctions

L’évaluation d’un article cessera dès lors qu’un auteur ne respectera pas ces lignes directrices. Si l’on constate qu’un article déjà publié contrevient à ces lignes directrices, alors un démenti ou un rectificatif sera publié dans la revue.