The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Conflict of Interest Policy for Editors

In what follows below, the word Editor(s) applies to the managing editor and the four co-editors of the CJE. A paper submitted by one of the Editors will be handled by another Editor who is not at the same institution. The other Editor will select referees and make all decisions on the paper. The decision process will be handled in such a way that the submitting Editor does not have access to information or correspondence relating to the submission.

If an Editor feels that there is likely to be a perception of a conflict of interest in relation to their handling of a submission, they will declare it to the other Editors, and the paper will be handled in the same way as described above.

An Editor will declare a conflict of interest when a paper is submitted by an author whose relationship with this Editor might create the perception of bias (e.g., in terms of close friendship, conflict, or rivalry). Specifically, an Editor will declare a conflict of interest when a paper is submitted by:

The above list is indicative but not exclusive; other reasons for conflict of interest between Editor and Author may exist. The Editor who has declared a conflict of interest will not be involved in selecting referees or making any decisions on the paper.

With an initial submission of a paper, a corresponding author may alert the Editors to a potential conflict of interest regarding particular referees. The corresponding author must indicate the nature of the potential conflict of interest. Editors will exercise their discretion in assigning referees to ensure that all reviewers are "at arm's length" to the authors.

The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Politique sur les conflits d'intérêts concernant les rédacteurs

Dans ce qui suit, le mot « rédacteur(s) » s'applique au rédacteur administratif, aux corédacteurs et au rédacteur responsable des données de la Revue. Un article soumis par l'un des rédacteurs sera automatiquement confié à un autre rédacteur, qui choisira des arbitres et prendra toutes les décisions concernant cet article. Le processus d'évaluation se déroulera de telle manière que le rédacteur ayant soumis l’article ne pourra pas accéder aux informations concernant sa soumission.

Si un rédacteur sent qu'il y a le moindre risque de conflit d'intérêts apparent au sujet d'un article dont il pourrait avoir la charge, il le signalera aux autres rédacteurs qui prendront les mesures nécessaires, décrites ci-dessus.

Un rédacteur doit déclarer un conflit d’intérêts lorsqu’un article est soumis par un auteur dont la relation avec lui pourrait donner une impression de parti pris (p. ex., existence d’une amitié étroite, d’un conflit ou d’une rivalité). Plus précisément, un rédacteur déclare un conflit d’intérêts lorsqu’un article est soumis par :

 

La liste ci-dessus est indicative, mais non exclusive; il peut exister d’autres motifs de conflits d’intérêts entre un rédacteur et un auteur. Le rédacteur qui a déclaré un conflit d’intérêts ne participera pas à la sélection des arbitres ni à la prise de décisions au sujet de l’article.

Au moment de la soumission initiale d’un article, un auteur correspondant peut alerter les rédacteurs d’un conflit d’intérêts potentiel vis-à-vis certains arbitres. L’auteur correspondant doit indiquer la nature du conflit d’intérêts potentiel. Les rédacteurs exerceront leur pouvoir discrétionnaire en nommant les arbitres pour s’assurer que tous les évaluateurs sont « indépendants » des auteurs.