The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Data Availability Policy

For Experimental Papers

For experimental papers, we have a more detailed policy, including requirements for submitted papers as well as accepted papers. We normally expect authors of experimental articles to supply the following supplementary materials (any exceptions to this policy should be requested at the time of submission):

  1. The original instructions. These should be summarized as part of the discussion of experimental design in the submitted manuscript, and also provided in full as an appendix at the time of submission. The instructions should be presented in a way that, together with the design summary, conveys the protocol clearly enough that the design could be replicated by a reasonably skilled experimentalist. For example, if different instructions were used for different sessions, the correspondence should be indicated.
  2. Information about subject eligibility or selection, such as exclusions based on past participation in experiments, college major, etc. This should be summarized as part of the discussion of experimental design in the submitted manuscript.
  3. Any computer programs, configuration files, or scripts used to run the experiment and/or to analyze the data. These should be summarized as appropriate in the submitted manuscript and provided in full as an appendix when the final version of a manuscript is sent in. (Data summaries, intermediate results, and advice about how to use the programs are welcome, but not required.)
  4. The raw data from the experiment. These should be summarized as appropriate in the submitted manuscript and provided in full as an appendix when the final version of an accepted manuscript is sent in, with sufficient explanation to make it possible to use the submitted computer programs to replicate the data analysis.

Other information, such as applications to Institutional Review Boards, consent forms, or Web signup and disclosure forms, is not required or expected. If it desired to make this kind of information public, it should be posted on laboratory or authors' Web sites.

If the paper is accepted by the CJE, the appendices containing instructions, the computer programs, configuration files, or scripts used to run the experiment and/or analyze the data, and the raw data will normally be archived on the CJE web site when the paper appears.

The Journal of the Canadian Economics Association
La revue de l'association canadienne d'économique

Politique de disponibilité des données

Pour les articles expérimentaux

Pour les travaux expérimentaux, notre politique est plus détaillée. Ces contraintes concernent les articles soumis récemment, mais aussi les articles déjà acceptés. Les auteurs d'articles expérimentaux doivent envoyer les éléments suivants (et si cela leur est impossible, il est nécessaire de le préciser lors de la soumission):

  1. Les instructions originales. Elles doivent être résumées dans le corps du manuscrit et être citées en intégralité dans les annexes. Les instructions doivent être présentées de façon suffisamment détaillée et claire pour que le protocole puisse être reproduit par un chercheur. Par exemple, si différentes sections nécessitent des instructions différentes, tout devra être clairement indiqué.
  2. Les informations sur les choix de sélection, comme les exclusions fondées sur la participation passée à d'autres expériences, college major, etc... Dans le corps du manuscrit, ceci devra être résumé.
  3. Tout programme, fichier de configuration, script, utilisé pour l'expérience et /ou pour analyser les données. Dans le corps du manuscrit, ceci devra être résumé, mais détaillé dans les annexes. Le résumé des données, les résultats intermédiaires et tout conseil sur l'utilisation des programmes sont souhaités, mais pas obligatoires.
  4. Les données brutes de l'expérience. Elles doivent être résumées dans le manuscrit, et fournies en détail dans les annexes lors de l'envoi des fichiers de la version finale. Des instructions détaillées doivent être envoyées pour rendre possible la reproduction de l'expérience.

Toute autre information, comme les soumissions au Institutional Review Boards, les formulaires de consentement, les signatures électroniques... ne sont pas nécessaires. Si les auteurs souhaitent rendre ces informations publiques, elles pourront être mise en ligne sur leurs propres sites web ou les sites de leurs centres de recherche.

Si l'article est accepté par la CJE, les annexes contenant les instructions, les programmes, les fichiers de configuration, ou les scripts utilisés pour l'expérience et pour l'analyse et la reproduction des résultats, ainsi que les données brutes, seront archivées et mises en ligne par la CJE sur son site Internet lors de la publication de l'article.