University of Sherbrooke, Québec
October 2-4, 2015


Dear Canadian Resource and Environmental Economics Study Group members,

It is our great pleasure to announce that the 25th annual meeting of the Canadian Resource and Environmental Economists (CREE) study Group will be held on Friday through Sunday, October 2-4, 2015 by the Université de Sherbrooke (Sherbrooke, Quebec).

Keynote speaker: Gérard Gaudet (Université de Montréal)

Pre-conference (2 Oct): Workshop in honour of Pierre Lasserre (program attached). The workshop will take place on the campus of the Université de Sherbrooke. Rooms at the special CREE rate will be available at the Grand Hotel Times starting Thursday night and all the participants will receive a free transit pass valid from Oct 1 to Oct 4. Registration for the workshop is 25$ (0$ for students) and covers coffee breaks and lunch. 

Proposal / paper submission

The organizing committee invites the submission of abstracts (2 pages) or full papers on topics related to environmental, energy and resource economics.

Submissions should be in PDF format and the submission deadline is July 5, 2015. Please click on the link below to submit your paper proposal to the organizing committee.

Student travel grants

CREE will provide three travel grants (up to 750$ each) to Ph.D. student whose papers have been accepted for presentation at the conference. To be eligible for consideration for funding, a full paper must be submitted and the presenter of the paper has to be a graduate student. Students who are interested in applying for the grant must indicate their intention and provide information confirming eligibility at the time of submission by sending an email to 


The objective of CREE is to provide a forum for researchers and policy analysts in resource and environmental economics to share ideas, questions and research findings. The annual CREE conference is deliberately kept small, usually with about 20-30 papers selected for presentation and discussion, and about 60 delegates in attendance. This setting fosters a high level interaction among participants and results in valuable feedback for presenters. It also provides a setting for emerging scholars to meet and interact with academics and policy analysts from across the country and, indeed, from around the world.

We look forward to seeing you in our beautiful Eastern Township this autumn!

Jie He and Martino Pelli, Co-chairs


Program Committee:

Carol McAusland (UBC)

Joel Bruneau (U of Saskatchewan)

Bob Cairns (McGill)

Ujjayant Chakravorty (Tufts University)

Diane Dupont (Brock U)

Jie He (U de Sherbrooke)

Justin Leroux (HEC Montréal)

Linda Nostbakken (NHH)

Martino Pelli (U de Sherbrooke)

Charles Séguin (UQÀM)


Contact the organizing committee: