Banff, Alberta
September 30–October 2, 2016


Dear Canadian Resource and Environmental Economics Study Group members,

It is our great pleasure to announce that the 26th annual meeting of the Canadian Resource and Environmental Economists (CREE) Study Group will be held on Friday through Sunday, September 30 - October 2, 2016 in Banff, Alberta.

Proposal / paper submission

The organizing committee invites the submission of abstracts (2 pages) or full papers on topics related to environmental, energy and resource economics.

Submissions should be in PDF format and the submission deadline has been extended to July 15, 2016. Please click on the link below to submit your paper proposal to the organizing committee.

Student travel grants

CREE will provide up to six travel grants (up to $750 each) to Ph.D. students whose papers have been accepted for presentation at the conference. To be eligible for consideration for funding, a full paper must be submitted and the presenter of the paper has to be a graduate student. Students who are interested in applying for the grant must indicate their intention and provide information confirming eligibility at the time of submission by sending an email to 


The objective of CREE is to provide a forum for researchers and policy analysts in resource and environmental economics to share ideas, questions and research findings. The annual CREE conference is deliberately kept small, usually with about 20-30 papers selected for presentation and discussion, and about 60 delegates in attendance. This setting fosters a high level interaction among participants and results in valuable feedback for presenters. It also provides a setting for emerging scholars to meet and interact with academics and policy analysts from across the country and, indeed, from around the world.

We look forward to seeing you in Alberta this autumn!

Jennifer Winter, Lucija Muehlenbachs and Pamela Campa, CREE program co-chairs



Program Committee:

Carol McAusland (UBC)

Joel Bruneau (U of Saskatchewan)

Bob Cairns (McGill)

Ujjayant Chakravorty (Tufts University)

Diane Dupont (Brock U)

Jie He (U de Sherbrooke)

Justin Leroux (HEC Montréal)

Linda Nostbakken (NHH)

Martino Pelli (U de Sherbrooke)

Charles Séguin (UQÀM)


Contact the organizing committee: