Maple Leaf 

   Corporate Officers:
Angela Redish   
   Vice President &
   Conference Organizer
Scott Taylor   
Werner Antweiler   
Ana Ferrer   
   Deputy Vice President
Nicole Fortin   
   Past President
Frances Woolley   
   CJE Managing Editor
Katherine Cuff   
   Executive Officer
Sonya Marion   
  CEA Logo

The CEA offers the Rae Prize every two years. The Prize is intended to recognize research excellence in the recent past and is not a life-time award. The Prize has a cash value of $5,000. The Prize has been named after John Rae, born in Scotland in 1796, who did most of his work in Canada and was a genuine precursor of endogenous growth theory.

This prize is awarded annually to honour the memory of the late Douglas D. Purvis. An award of $15,000 is to be presented for a work of excellence relating to Canadian economic policy and published in the preceding year. The award is open to all forms of written media in which material relevant to Canadian economic policy appears, including a series of articles in newspapers or magazines, books, single articles in scholarly journals, government studies including monographs done for royal commissions, other official documents, and think-tank reports. To be eligible, the material must be in the public domain and primarily, but not necessarily exclusively, related to some issue in Canadian economic policy. The Prize is awarded by the Purvis family. The members of the selection committee are nominated by the CEA and CABE.

The Canadian Economics Association awards the Harry G. Johnson Prize each year to the author or authors of the paper judged to be the best paper published in the Canadian Journal of Economics in the preceding calendar year. The Prize has a cash value of $2,000.

The Canadian Economics Association awards the Robert Mundell Prize, worth $2,000, to the "young" author or authors of the paper judged to be the best paper published in the Canadian Journal of Economics in the previous calendar year.

The Vanderkamp Prize is awarded annually by the Canadian Public Policy for the best paper in the preceding year. The recipient receives $2,000. The winning paper is selected by a multidisciplinary panel.

CWEN/RFÉ Young Researcher Prize
The Canadian Women Economists Network/Réseau de Femmes Économistes (CWEN/RFÉ) Young Researcher Prize is awarded every two years in recognition of research excellence by a young woman economist. The Research Prize was established in 2010 and is presented at the CWEN/RFE luncheon held during the annual CEA Meetings. The recipient receives $1000. The current selection committee members are Jennifer Hunt (McGill), Angela Redish (UBC), and Gregor Smith (Queen's). Nominations to be considered for the 2012 award are to be sent to, by January 31, 2012. Please see the Terms of Reference for more information.

The Mike McCracken Award for Economic Statistics recognizes theoretical and applied contributions to the development or use of economic statistics in Canada.

The CEA Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding and lasting contributions to the Canadian Economics Association and to the community of academic economists in Canada. Award winners are selected by the CEA Executive Council. Nominations must be made to the Council.

The Bank of Canada Graduate Student Paper Award is conferred annually to the best student paper in a research area relevant for the Bank of Canada's mandate. The award is open to graduate students from a Canadian university or Canadian/Permanent Resident graduate students at a foreign university who submit their paper to the Annual CEA Conference. More information about the award may be found at: Bank of Canada - Research Awards


© 2018 Canadian Economics Association.
The CEA web site is maintained by Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML