Maple Leaf 

Frances Woolley   
Werner Antweiler   
   President Elect &
   Conference Organizer
Angela Redish   
   Vice President
Scott Taylor   
   Past President
Nancy Gallini   
   Executive Director
Vivian Tran   
   Assistant Treasurer
Ana Ferrer   
  CEA Logo
John Rae Prize

The CEA offers the Rae Prize every two years. The Prize is intended to recognize research excellence in the recent past and is not a life-time award. The Prize has a cash value of $5,000.

The Prize has been named after John Rae, born in Scotland in 1796, who did most of his work in Canada and was a genuine precursor of endogenous growth theory.

Past Winners:
1994 Larry Epstein (University of Toronto) and
Jean-Marie Dufour (Universitè de Montréal)
1996 Martin Browning (McMaster University)
1998 Thomas Lemieux (Université de Montréal)
2000 Dan Trefler (University of Toronto) and
Shouyong Shi (Queen's University)
2002 Mike Peters (University of Toronto)
2004 Walter Bossert (Université de Montréal)
2006 Hao Li (University of Toronto)
2008 Paul Beaudry (University of British Columbia)
2010 Michael Devereux (University of British Columbia)
2012 Yves Sprumont (Université de Montréal)
2014 Arthur Robson (Simon Fraser University) and
Francesco Trebbi (University of British Columbia)
2016 Fabian Lange (McGill University)

Criteria: The Prize is awarded to the Canadian economist with the best research record during the last five years. The Committee may decide what constitutes "best research record" and may also interpret "five years" with a modest amount of flexibility. Nominees must have a current, primary appointment in Canada and have done so in three of the last five years. Nominees must be members of the Association at the time of nomination.

Committee: A three person Committee makes the decision. The Committee is appointed by the President of the CEA in consultation with other members of the CEA Executive. There is no explicit exclusion of the CEA Executive from the Committee but in practice they have not been members of the Committee.  The committee members are: Thomas Lemieux (UBC, Chair), Yves Sprumont (Université de Montréal) and Gregor Smith (Queen's). 

Nominations: Nominations are open but in practice the majority of nominations come from the Chairs of Economics Departments. Chairs are asked to send a nomination letter and the CV of the nominee. Additional materials will not be submitted to the selection committee.

Deadline: For 2018, please send in nominations by March 15th by filling out the following form:  If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Vivian Tran at:


© 2018 Canadian Economics Association.
The CEA web site is maintained by Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML  | edit page